Log in

Awards and Scholarships

The Texas Social Studies Supervisor Association every Spring provide opportunities for their members and future social studies educators to apply for awards and scholarships.
Each award is found below.

2021-2022  Recipients

Dr. Rosemary Morrow Award (Supervisor of the Year Award)

Dr. Rosemary Morrow has been a member of TCSS for over thirty years and has been a member of TSSSA almost from its beginning.  Her classroom experience included social studies, Grades 7 - 12, at Porter Junior High and Austin High School in Austin ISD and also served as the  Instructional Coordinator and Administrative Supervisor for Social Studies, K-12, in Austin ISD.  She served as Assistant Director of Social Studies Curriculum and then Director of Social Studies Curriculum at the Texas Education Agency. She was TCSS President during the 2001-2002 year.  In 2012, The Supervisor of the Year Award given out by TSSSA was renamed in her honor for her years of service to social studies.

Past Recipients

Ann Rogers Scholarship

Ann Rogers was the Director of Social Studies for the Texas Education Agency for ten years. She spent her years in that position championing the needs of social studies teachers across the state of Texas. She has encouraged and enabled the excellence of social studies instruction in the state of Texas and has guided the writing and implementation of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills. This scholarship was created to honor Ann Rogers and her vision of the teaching of social studies in Texas.

.The Ann Rogers Scholarship is funded by the Texas Social Studies Supervisors Association, a non-profit, tax-exempt entity chartered under the laws of the State of Texas. The scholarship was created to provide scholarship funds for a student teacher doing his/her student teaching in social studies in the state of Texas.

‚ÄčThis $1,000.00 scholarship is paid directly to the student.

Past Recipients



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software